Making Jacques Torres’ Famous Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

I ride a trike on the bike trails of Colorado (not single track) and got dubbed the Trike Animal after a bike rider followed me up a long hill and failing to catch me until I stopped at the top, he said, “You’re an animal on that thing!”

I like cooking and baking, but have quickly learned that baking is different in that it is quite scientific. Many of the dry ingredients in baking are measured by weight (by the pro’s) rather than volume. So they give ingredient amounts in ounces or grams, rather than cups. A cup of flour can vary significantly depending on how compressed it is in the cup, but the weight will always be the correct amount.

My sister gave me a quality kitchen scale for my recent birthday and so now I can try to make Chef Torres’ cookies and other recipes by preparing the recipe the correct way.

Other birthday presents are also used in the following preparations and so this first post is for the family to show them how their presents get used and to say, “Thank You.”

PREPARATION
Get everything out on the kitchen table …-

What all do I need?

and more preparation …

I'm sure I have forgotten something

The scale, the measuring spoons, the stand holding my iPad, the mixing bowls and all of the Chocolate are presents.

Sifting the dry ingredients by whisking!

I will provide a link to the recipe at the end of this post.

The recipe calls for two different kinds of four, cake flour and bread flour. After weighing the flours and adding the other dry ingredients I whisk the dry ingredients rather than sifting them.  It is quicker, easier and much less messy.Sifting the dry ingredients by whisking!

In addition to weighing the correct amounts of two kinds of flour, the brown sugar and the chocolate chips (pieces) are also weighed.

Weighing the brown sugar

Now we cream the butter, add the sugars and continue mixing for about 5 minutes. The eggs are added and mixing continues until they are fully incorporated.

Mix in dry ingredients with as little mixing as possible

The recipe says 5 to 10 seconds to mix in the dry ingredients.  I just can’t do it that fast.

Now for the chocolate.  You can mix the chocolate pieces in by hand, or, I use dough hooks.

Add the Chocolate Pieces

Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 24 to 30 hours.  I wrap it in multiple packages so that I don’t have to bake it all at once.

Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate.

So at this time tomorrow I will remove one of the packages from the ‘fridge and bake at 350 degrees for 19 minutes.

Time moves slow when waiting for Cookies!!

CLICK HERE for the link to the recipe.

One thought on “Making Jacques Torres’ Famous Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

Leave a Reply

